Savoring Winter Break

My paperwhites bloomed! “Fresh flowers for a fresh new year” is what I captioned this photo on my instagram! That’s how I have been feeling about 2014 so far! Fresh! I have worked out every day since December 31, the air has been crisp and clean with blue skies, and I feel a rejuvenated sense of complete happiness. If that’s not feeling fresh, then I don’t know what is!

20140105-194850.jpg

On one of these very fresh and clear days, (yesterday) K and I went for a drive and found a few new amazing viewpoints right over near Cougar Mountain. This photo is from a little picnic spot near the top of Cougar Mountain. The view of Lake Sammamish in the sunset was breathtaking. I also got some shots of the sunset itself but it’s sad that my camera doesn’t even begin to capture the beauty that the naked eye can. We both were feeling so blessed to live where we live, in such an amazing state! (especially as my family in the midwest is dealing with temps almost 30 below zero!- you have to feel even more thankful to have sunny skies and 45 degrees!)

20140105-194907.jpg

I’ve really been trying to savor the last couple days of break. I just don’t want to go back to work! UGH! Tonight is my last night of break and I’m just trying to mentally prep to get back in the swing of things and it is so hard! I am thinking back to the break though, and don’t have a thing to regret about it. The last four days have been without any extra family around and I’ve done my fair share of “testing out the new couch” (read: being lazy), cooking, cleaning and working out (read: being productive), and having fun with K and friends. Today, for example, we went out to lunch and ice skating for our friends’ birthday! And Friday, we went shopping, out to sushi and to a movie for a date night! So really, I have done a great job of making the most of break and should be ready to get back to work. (I’m not though, and I’m not going to lie about it… so whatever.) Hopefully those little smiling faces will kick my butt back into gear tomorrow morning bright and early and I can find my motivation to teach their little minds everything they need to learn in first grade! Keep your fingers crossed for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

